--- title: "Adding, Editing, Deleting and Undeleting a Virtual Portal" slug: "adding-editing-deleting-and-undeleting-a-virtual-portal-2-1-1" tags: ["Portal", "8.4"] updated: 2026-09-27T13:44:10Z published: 2026-09-27T13:44:10Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/adding-editing-deleting-and-undeleting-a-virtual-portal-2-1-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Adding, Editing, Deleting and Undeleting a Virtual Portal ## Adding and Editing Virtual Portals **To add or edit a virtual portal:** 1. In the global administration view, select **Main > Portals** in the navigation pane. The **Portals** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-3C6GBHIW.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) 2. Either, Or, - Add a new virtual portal, click **New Portal**. The **New Portal** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-3LYAI50N.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) - Edit an existing portal, click the portal's name. The portal page is displayed. 3. Complete the fields. **Name** – Type a unique name for the virtual portal. Each part of the **Name** cannot be greater than 63 characters. **Status** – The status: either **Enabled** or **Disabled**. If you set the status to disabled: Global administrators can still connect to disabled portals via the *global administration view*. **Display Name** – Optional. The name displayed. **Billing ID (Optional)** – The virtual portal owner's billing ID. This enables integration of the portal with an external billing system. **Note** The **Billing ID** must be unique so that only this virtual portal is associated with it. **Company (Optional)** – The name of the company owning the portal. - Users cannot log in to the portal, and devices cannot connect. - Reports and email notifications are not sent from the portal. - User self-registration is disabled. 4. Click the **Plan** tab to assign a subscription plan. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-KAXT7OOX.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) 5. Click the **Subscription Plan** field and select the plan to assign the portal. The plan details are displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-3QYQWVT8.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) 6. To include an addon for the portal, see [Assigning Addons to a Team Portal](/v1/docs/provisioning-the-virtual-portal-global-plans-and-add-ons-6-1#assigning-addons-to-a-team-portal). 7. Click **Save**. ## Deleting and Undeleting Virtual Portals **Note** When a virtual portal is deleted, it is retained for the number of days specified in the **Retain deleted portals for** field in the global settings, where the retention period is defined. For details refer to [Configuring Global Settings](https://kb.ctera.com/docs/configuring-global-settings-1). All the portal content and configuration is retained during this time and any unique values associated with the portal cannot be used for another portal. At the end of the retention period, the portal content is permanently deleted and unique values that were associated with the portal can be used for another portal. During the retention period the portal can be restored, as described in the procedure **To restore a deleted portal**, below. **To delete a virtual portal:** 1. In the global administration view, select **Main > Portals** in the navigation pane. The **Portals** page is displayed. 2. Select the row of the portal to delete and click **Delete Portal**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-ID1OMSA8.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) A confirmation window is displayed. 3. Click **Delete**. The portal is deleted. **To restore a deleted portal:** **Note** A deleted portal can be restored after it is deleted for the number of days specified in the **Retain deleted portals for** field in the global settings, where the retention period is defined. For details refer to [Configuring Global Settings](https://kb.ctera.com/docs/configuring-global-settings-1). 1. In the global administration view, select **Main > Portals** in the navigation pane. The **Portals** page opens, displaying all the virtual portals. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-R55YSTR6.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) 2. Change the view to display the deleted portals by clicking **Show Portals** and selecting **Trashcan**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-2I256G59.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) The view changes to display deleted portals. **Note** Deleted portals in this list do not use any licenses or consume storage from storage quotas. 3. Select the row of the portal to recover and click **Undelete**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-4WURVFSI.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) The portal and portal content is restored. **Notes** You can export the list of deleted portals with information such as the storage used by the portal, when it was deleted and licenses for the portal, by clicking **Export to Excel**. You can click **Delete Permanently** to immediately delete the portal and all the content. The **Permanent Deletion Wizard** window is displayed. 1. Select **Continue**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-GGKH95AO.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) 2. Enter the verification code received in your email, and select **Start Permanent Deletion**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-46KRUWL6.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A29%3A10Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A29%3A10Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=sXi74BdMNjzmf2QfgmNvk%2FNCzV4E60aDMsZiFEJFwDI%3D) The audit log includes an entry for a portal that is deleted, undeleted or permanently deleted.