--- title: "Adding, Editing, or Deleting a Subscription Plan" slug: "adding-editing-or-deleting-a-subscription-plan-8-1-1" tags: ["Portal"] updated: 2026-11-08T11:13:20Z published: 2026-11-08T11:13:20Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/adding-editing-or-deleting-a-subscription-plan-8-1-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Adding, Editing, or Deleting a Subscription Plan ## Adding or Editing a Subscription Plan **To add or edit a subscription plan:** 1. In the global administration view, select **Provisioning > Plans** in the navigation pane. The **Plans** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-IY3K1OU4.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) 2. To add a new plan, click **New Plan**. Or, To edit an existing plan, click the plan's name. **Note** Editing a plan that has already been assigned to users can change what the users can do. The plan page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-WPNLG2XB.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) 3. In the **Details** tab enter the plan details. **Plan Name** – A name for the plan. Only letters and numbers can be used for the name. **Display Name** – Optionally, the name to use when listing plans and in notifications. **Sort Index** – Optionally, an index number to assign the plan, to enable custom sorting of the plans displayed to end users in the Subscribe to Plan wizard. 4. In the **Services** tab choose which services to include in the plan. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-4MTJFGEG.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) **Cloud Backup Service** – The Cloud Backup Service is included in the subscription plan. **Remote Access** – Include remote access in the subscription plan. Remote access includes both access to the device's management interface via the CTERA Portal and a dedicated URL, access to the user's files via the CTERA Portal and a dedicated URL. **Note** Device owners can disable remote access via the device's management interface. **Antivirus** – Include the Cloud Drive antivirus service in the plan. When antivirus is activated, files are scanned for malware automatically and transparently, before they are downloaded for the first time. The Cloud Drive antivirus service requires an additional license. 5. In the **Snapshot Retention Policy** tab, set the snapshot retention policy. This policy applies to both Cloud Drive snapshots and backups from CTERA Edge Filers and CTERA Drive Protect (Agents). ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-UW5YQUBY.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) **Retain all snapshots for** – The number of hours after creation that all snapshots are retained. **Retain hourly snapshots** – The number of hourly snapshots that are retained. **Retain daily snapshots** – The number of daily snapshots that are retained. **Retain weekly snapshots** – The number of weekly snapshots that are retained. **Retain monthly snapshots** – The number of monthly snapshots that are retained. **Retain quarterly snapshots** – The number of quarterly snapshots that are retained. **Retain yearly snapshots** – The number of yearly snapshots that are retained. **Retain deleted files for** – The number of days to retain deleted files. The minimum value is 1 day. **Notes** For an additional explanation of each policy, see [Managing Snapshots](/v1/docs/managing-snapshots-6-1-1). The user can change the snapshot retention policy if the **Allow Changing Snapshot Retention Policy** permission is enabled for the user. 6. In the **Quotas** tab click in the quota field and enter the quota to include in the plan. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-VW4XOHYU.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) For example, to include 100TB of storage space, click in the **Storage** quota field and enter 102400. **Note** Items included in the license are displayed. For example, if an archive license is included, the plans Quotas includes a **Secondary Storage** field. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-CU523WGK.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) The quotas must not exceed the number specified in the license. An error message is displayed when you attempt to assign a user to a plan with a quota that exceeds the number specified in the license. The storage value is specified in GB and if it is over 1024GB, it is displayed in the **Plans** page as a TB amount, where the terms GB and TB follow the industry standard, as binary amounts and not decimal amounts. 7. Click **Save**. **Note** Two factor authentication (2FA) is required when making the following subscription plan changes at both the global and team portal levels: - Changing the plan for a user. - Changing the retention policy for a plan. For example, the following wizard is displayed when changing the retention policy for a plan: ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-5J0RJA75.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) The plan is saved. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-0NTF1Z7T.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) New plans are applied every day at midnight. Existing plans that are edited are immediately applied. You can apply new plans immediately by clicking **Apply Provisioning Changes**. ## Deleting a Plan You cannot delete the default plan, nor a plan that is already assigned. **To delete a plan:** 1. In the global administration view, select **Provisioning > Plans** in the navigation pane. The **Plans** page is displayed. 2. Select the plan's row. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-WQ4Q1AI1.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A07Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A07Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=IMmQbRyycnlGuHn4ZI43SJdf2oKvHnwakLeAHMU%2BEM4%3D) 3. Click **Delete Plan.** A confirmation window is displayed. 4. Click **Delete** to confirm. The subscription plan is deleted.