- 16 Oct 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
Administration Options in the End User Interface
- Updated on 16 Oct 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
When there are notifications, the number is displayed on the notifications icon in the end user interface. Clicking the notifications icon displays a list of notifications.
Clicking a notification in the list opens the device details to investigate the cause of the notification.
The End User Interface Navigation Pane
When you connect to an end user CTERA Portal as an administrator, in addition to the options available for every end user in the navigation pane, My Files and Shared With Me, you also have the Users option and a Shared Items option.
Non-administrator end users have a Shared By Me option and not the Shared Items option.
The Shared Items option displays all the shared items by the administrator.
An administrator with the Read Only Administrator role can see the users and the folders for each user. An administrator with the Read/Write Administrator role can also manage the user folders as that user.
After a backup is created in the CTERA Portal for any device, you can manage the backup.
To restore from a backed up device:
- In the end user view, click BACKUPS and then select the device from the list.
The current backup for the device is displayed.
- Click More Versions to select a different backup from the list.
- Select the version with items to rstore.
- Drill-down and select what you want to restore.
You can select multiple items to restore.
- Click Restore.
- Specify how and where the items should be restored and click Start Restore.
The items are restored.
The end user CTERA Portal displays all devices connected to the CTERA Portal that you are managing.
To manage a device as an administrator, see Managing Devices From the End User Portal.
Actions That Can Be Performed on Folders and Files
As an administrator, you can perform the same actions as an end user on folders and files, as described in Copying, Moving and Other Actions You can Perform On Folders and Files. In addition, you can permanently delete content to comply with company, national, and international data protection regulations, such as GDPR.
You can permanently delete end user files, folders and backups. Only a single permanent deletion operation can be performed per cloud drive and not multiple permanent deletions in parallel.
Permanent deletion means that the content is not saved as deleted content for the amount of time specified for the The numbers of days to keep deleted files value in the snapshot retention policy, but it and all previous versions under the version, saved in previous snapshots, are deleted as well as the version on all devices. If the file that is permanently deleted was moved or renamed in the past, the originally named files and the versions in the original folder are also deleted.
Devices that are not connected to the portal that have the content that is permanently deleted will have the content permanently deleted when the device reconnects to the portal as long as less time than 180 days has passed.
Displaying a previous version and then permanently deleting content in this previous version, deletes the content in this version and previous versions from this version but not from more recent versions. In this case, since more recent content still exists, the report that is produced indicates this by stating that zero files were removed.
To enable permanent deletion, the administrator must have the following defined:
- Allow Files/Folder Permanent Deletion role, described in Managing Administrator Users.
- The email SMTP server defined by the global administrator must be running.
You can permanently delete multiple items at the same time.
- User Files and Folders:
To permanently delete content:
- In the end user view, go to the content that you want to permanently delete.
- Select the content and click .
The Permanent Deletion Wizard is displayed, listing the items selected for permanent deletion.Note
If you are only deleting one item, you can also click the 3 vertical dots on the right and chose Delete Permanently from the drop-down menu.
- Click Continue.
The Verification step is displayed.
An email with content similar to the following is sent:
- Enter the verification code and a reason for the deletion. The reason must consist of letters and/or numbers only.
- Click Start Permanent Deletion.
The deletion completes and the Summary window is displayed with details.
When permanently deleting content from a previous version,
No files deletedis displayed instead of the number of files deleted successfully.
- Click Download Report to download a csv file that lists the files deleted, with the file path and name and snapshot, last modified and more information about the deleted file.
- Click Finish to close the wizard.
The permanent deletion operation is slower than normal file deletion as all past versions are also deleted.
Information about permanent deletion of folders and files is written to the Permanent Deletion Log.