Collaborating on Files
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Collaborating on Files

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article Summary

You can invite co-workers, external users, or groups of users to collaborate on a folder or file with you. Collaborators will receive an email notification inviting them to collaborate on the project. They can then view or edit files in the project and add files and folders to the project, depending on their permissions.

Note: You cannot share a stub when the agent is configured as a Caching Agent. If the file to share is a stub, open it first.

To share a folder or file:

  1. In Windows File Explorer, right-click the folder on your computer and select CTERA Agent > Share this folder or CTERA Agent > Share this file.

    Or, to share a parent folder in the cloud drive:

    a. Open CTERA Agent Settings window.

    b. Click Main > Cloud Drive in the navigation pane.

    The Cloud Drive page is displayed.

    c. Click the image.png button for the parent folder of the folder you want to share and click Share With Others.

    The CTERA Portal is displayed in your browser with a sharing window for the folder or file.

    image.png

  2. Select whether to invite a single user image.png or group image.png.

  3. Enter the user or group to invite: an email address, user name, or user group name. Users that you frequently share with will be auto-completed after you type only a few characters of the name or email.

    image.png

  4. You can manage the collaborator.

    • Click image.png and choose the relevant permission to configure the file permissions as No Access, Preview Only, Read Only or Read/Write.


      Note: This icon varies depending on default permissions level. For example, the preview icon is displayed for the Preview Only permission level.


      When you share a folder, all the files in the folder inherit the folder permission. You can change the permission for individual files in the folder, to override the inherited permission, including to mark some files as No Access so that share users do not have access to these files.


      Preview Only share recipients are able to view the file using the portal’s integrated document preview server. Users with this permission are unable to download, copy, or print the file.

    • Configure an expiration date for the collaborator, by clicking image.png.
    • Remove a collaborator, by clicking image.png and then Remove.
    • For external users defined by email, define authentication settings such as email or SMS verification for increased security, by clicking image.png. The user receives a verification code and must use this code within 30 minutes before it expires.

  5. Configure project settings by clicking image.png and select the options you want:

    • This is a team project – The folder is a team project. The folder is displayed in the collaborator’s Shared with Me folder without your name.

    • Allow team members to reshare this folder/file – The folder/file can be reshared by other team members. If you do not want this folder/file reshared with additional people, clear this check box.
      *Allow team members to sync this folder – The folder can be synced to the computer of other team members. This option is only available for top-level folders.

  6. Click SAVE.

    After sharing a file, the collaborator icon next to the file in the portal changes to green image.png.

    After sharing folder file, the folder icon in the portal changes to green image.png.

    An email is sent to the collaborators inviting them to access the file.

    Note: When groups are invited, emails are not sent to the individual users in the group.

    Clicking the image.png link in the portal opens the Share window, where you can change the settings, as described above starting with step 4. An additional option is available to resend an invitation, by clicking image.png and then Resend.


Was this article helpful?