--- title: "Configuring Deduplication for a User Account" slug: "configuring-deduplication-for-a-user-account-4-1" tags: ["Portal", "8.3"] updated: 2026-08-03T15:06:55Z published: 2026-08-03T15:06:55Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/configuring-deduplication-for-a-user-account-4-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Configuring Deduplication for a User Account **To configure user account deduplication:** 1. Select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. The **Users** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-K6IWF5LX.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A15Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A15Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=XOD6jGB8H0KVcSJCIQoRZ7mPv%2F87KWJU2ci7npzzv7A%3D) 2. Click the user's name. The user window is displayed with the user name as the window title. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-SKPWR1V7.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A15Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A15Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=XOD6jGB8H0KVcSJCIQoRZ7mPv%2F87KWJU2ci7npzzv7A%3D) 3. Select the **Advanced** option. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-NWCKGOP9.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A15Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A15Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=XOD6jGB8H0KVcSJCIQoRZ7mPv%2F87KWJU2ci7npzzv7A%3D) **Backup** **Deduplication Level** – The default deduplication level to use for new backup folders. Deduplication is performed on the device before the data is uploaded to the portal: **Default Folder Group** – Displayed only if **User** is selected as the *Deduplication Level*. Select the default folder group to use for all of the user account's backup folders: - **User** – Create a single folder group for the user account, containing all of the user account's backup folders. Deduplication is performed for the user account's folder group. - **Portal** – Use a single folder group that is shared by the entire virtual portal, containing all of the backup folders in the portal. - **Folder** – Create a folder group for each of the user account's devices, containing all of the device's backup folders. Deduplication is performed separately for each of the user account's folder groups. - An existing folder group. - **Create Automatically**. Automatically create a new folder group. **Cloud Drive** **Deduplication Level** – The default deduplication level to use for new cloud folders. Deduplication is performed on the device before the data is uploaded to the portal: - **User** – Create a single folder group for the user account, containing all of the user account's cloud folders. Deduplication is performed for the user account's folder group. - **Portal** – Use a single folder group that is shared by the entire virtual portal, containing all of the cloud folders in the portal. - **Folder** – Create a folder group for each of the user account's devices, containing all of the device's cloud folders. Deduplication is performed separately for each of the user account's folder groups. When the edge filer is configured as a Caching Gateway, use **Folder**. **Default Folder Group** – Displayed only if **User** is selected as the *Deduplication Level*. Select the default folder group to use for all of the user account's cloud folder: - An existing folder group. - **Create Automatically** – Automatically create a new folder group. **Home Folder** – One of the user's personal folders to act as the user's home folder. The home folder is a personal folder that is linked to the user account and cannot be deleted. 4. Click **Save**.