--- title: "Deleting and Undeleting Folders" slug: "deleting-and-undeleting-folders-3-1-1" tags: ["Portal"] updated: 2026-09-01T07:40:16Z published: 2026-09-01T07:40:16Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/deleting-and-undeleting-folders-3-1-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deleting and Undeleting Folders **To delete a folder:** 1. Select **Global File System > Cloud Drive Folders** or **Global File System > Backup Folders** in the navigation pane. The **Cloud Drive Folders** or **Backup Folders** page is displayed. | Cloud Drive Folder | Backup Folder | | --- | --- | | ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-A37TLBBW.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=%2B1sBBkBQ%2BOydfWDw0ak0uanzlUj7ww700k4hvfo9BP8%3D) | ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-SQK7P0TP.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=%2B1sBBkBQ%2BOydfWDw0ak0uanzlUj7ww700k4hvfo9BP8%3D) | 2. Either, Or, 1. Select the folder’s row to delete and click **Delete**. A confirmation window is displayed. 2. Click **Delete** to confirm. 1. Click the folder. 2. Click **Delete**. A confirmation window is displayed. 3. Click **Delete** to confirm. The folder is deleted. When you delete a cloud drive or backup folder, it goes into the **Trashcan**. The folder is kept in the **Trashcan** for the duration of the retention policy specified for deleted files, described in [The Snapshot Retention Policy](/v1/docs/the-snapshot-retention-policy-10-1-1). **Note** Snapshots of deleted folders are maintained as long as the folder is in the trashcan. To access a previous version, you must first undelete the folder. You can review cloud drive and backup folders that have been deleted, while they are still in the **Trashcan** and either undelete them or permanently delete them. **To view and manage deleted folders:** 1. Select **Global File System > Cloud Drive Folders** or **Global File System > Backup Folders** in the navigation pane. The **Cloud Drive Folders** or **Backup Folders** page is displayed. 2. In the **Show Folders** option, from the drop-down list select **Trashcan**, to display all the deleted cloud folders or backup folders. For example, for cloud drive folders: ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-2WV0PJ04.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=%2B1sBBkBQ%2BOydfWDw0ak0uanzlUj7ww700k4hvfo9BP8%3D) 3. Select one or more rows to either undelete the folders, by clicking **Undelete**, or permanently delete the folders and their contents, by clicking **Delete Permanently**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-CU4YL1BJ.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=%2B1sBBkBQ%2BOydfWDw0ak0uanzlUj7ww700k4hvfo9BP8%3D) When the view is changed back to show folders, and folders that were undeleted are displayed.