--- title: "Deleting and Undeleting Folders" slug: "deleting-and-undeleting-folders-3" tags: ["8.2", "Portal"] updated: 2025-06-11T10:41:43Z published: 2025-06-11T10:41:43Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/deleting-and-undeleting-folders-3" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deleting and Undeleting Folders **To delete a folder:** 1. Select **Folders > Cloud Drive Folders** or **Folders > Backup Folders** in the navigation pane. The **Cloud Drive Folders** or **Backup Folders** page is displayed. 2. Either, Or, 1. Select the folder’s row to delete and click **Delete**. A confirmation window is displayed. 2. Click **DELETE** to confirm. 1. Click the folder. 2. Click **Delete**. A confirmation window is displayed. 3. Click **Yes** to confirm. The folder is deleted. When you delete a cloud drive or backup folder, it goes into the **Trashcan**. The folder is kept in the **Trashcan** for the duration of the retention policy specified for deleted files, described in [The Snapshot Retention Policy](/v1/docs/the-snapshot-retention-policy-10). **Note** Snapshots of deleted folders are maintained as long as the folder is in the trashcan. To access a previous version, you must first undelete the folder. You can review cloud drive and backup folders that have been deleted, while they are still in the **Trashcan** and either undelete them or permanently delete them. **To view and manage deleted folders:** 1. Select **Folders > Cloud Drive Folders** or **Folders > Backup Folders** in the navigation pane. The **Cloud Drive Folders** or **Backup Folders** page is displayed. 2. In the **Show** option, from the drop-down list select **Trashcan**, to display all the deleted cloud folders or backup folders. For example, for cloud drive folders: ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-V2SH3TP7.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A28Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A28Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=mlnjT3XXknM1uW6zwRU7raUesrwhtBpgIgoIKsrtz1A%3D) 3. You can select one folder row to review the files in that folder that were deleted, as described in [Viewing Folder Content](/v1/docs/managing-folders-4#viewing-folder-content) or select one or more rows to either undelete the folders, by clicking **Undelete**, or permanently delete the folders and their contents, by clicking **Delete Permanently**.