--- title: "Deleting Local Users" slug: "deleting-users-5-1-1" tags: ["7.11", "Edge Filer", "Gateway", "Filer"] updated: 2025-04-23T15:35:55Z published: 2025-04-23T15:35:55Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/deleting-users-5-1-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deleting Local Users Active Directory users are removed from the Active Directory domain and when the edge filer syncs to Active Directory, the user list is updated. **Note** You cannot delete the main administrator account. **To delete a user:** 1. In the **Configuration** view, select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. 2. Select the user row and click **Delete**. **Note** The **Delete** option is displayed after selecting the row of the user to delete. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-GZOXW8TL.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A43%3A41Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A43%3A41Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=DFBuTAvK2%2BBb4ga%2Fnt9Fo95oHlzb17kCJnF8eUqwN4s%3D) 3. Click **OK** to confirm. The user is deleted.