--- title: "Editing or Deleting User Accounts" slug: "editing-or-deleting-user-accounts-3-1" tags: ["Portal", "8.3"] updated: 2026-08-03T12:22:12Z published: 2026-08-03T12:22:12Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/editing-or-deleting-user-accounts-3-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Editing or Deleting User Accounts ## Editing a User Account You can edit user details, including the devices with which the user has connected to the portal and the user’s cloud drive.users to the portal in the following ways: **To edit an existing user:** 1. Select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. The **Users** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-0D3KFLOY.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A25Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A25Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=SQDcoz3QztciP25MeDcHLcM76vK3OWNu0aRUrbvZq%2FQ%3D) 2. Click the user’s name. The user page is displayed with the user name as the page title and more options, such as the user devices and cloud drive folders. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-8LIMDXKT.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A25Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A25Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=SQDcoz3QztciP25MeDcHLcM76vK3OWNu0aRUrbvZq%2FQ%3D) 3. Edit the fields in the **Profile** option: **Username** – A name for the user's CTERA Portal account. **Email** – The user's email address. **First Name** – The user's first name. **Last Name** – The user's last name. **Company (Optional)** – The name of the user's company. **Role** – The user's role: **Status** – Select the account status: **Note** In order to access the end user portal view, the user must have a role other than **Disabled**, and the status must be enabled. **Language** – The language used for the user interface. **User Expiration** – If required, slide **User Expiration** on and then specify the expiration date of the user. **Password** and **Retype Password** – The first password that is created for the user. Password requirements depend on the password policy, which can be set in the **Virtual Portal Settings** window, described in [Password Policy](/v1/docs/configuring-team-portal-settings-5#password-policy). **Force Password Change** – Slide **Force Password Change** on and then specify an expiration date for the user account password. When the password has expired, the user must configure a new password on the next login. **Numeric UID (Optional)** – A numeric user ID. **Comment** – An optional free text comment about the user. - **Disabled** – The user account is disabled. The user cannot access the end user portal view. - **End User** – The user can access the end user portal view. - **Read/Write Administrator** – The user can access the end user portal view as an administrator with read-write permissions. - **Read Only Administrator** – The user can access the end user portal view as an administrator with read-only permissions. - **Support** – The user can access the end user portal view as an administrator and has read/write access to devices, user accounts, folders, and folder groups, and read-only access to all other settings in the portal. - **Compliance Officer** – The user can access the end user portal view as an administrator with read-write permissions and manage compliance settings for cloud drive folders. - **Enabled** – The account is enabled, and the user can access the portal. - **Disabled** – The account is disabled, and the user cannot access the portal. The default value for new users is *Enabled*. The default value for invited users is *Disabled*. The status changes to *Enabled* when the invited user activates the account. 4. Click **Save**. After changing the user role, the user is signed out of the portal and has to sign back in to the portal to have the new role implemented. ## Deleting a User Account Deleting a user account from the portal cancels the user's subscriptions to plans, and deletes all of the user's folders and folder groups. **To delete a user account:** 1. Select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. The **Users** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-QIUJ0WCM.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A25Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A25Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=SQDcoz3QztciP25MeDcHLcM76vK3OWNu0aRUrbvZq%2FQ%3D) 2. Either, Or, 1. Select the user’s row to delete and click **Delete**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-69MIJPJ5.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A25Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A25Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=SQDcoz3QztciP25MeDcHLcM76vK3OWNu0aRUrbvZq%2FQ%3D) A confirmation window is displayed. 2. Click **Delete Including Associated Folders** to confirm. 1. Click the user. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-G2HODLEH.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A34%3A25Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A34%3A25Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=SQDcoz3QztciP25MeDcHLcM76vK3OWNu0aRUrbvZq%2FQ%3D) 2. Click **Delete**. A confirmation window is displayed. 3. Click **Delete Including Associated Folders** to confirm. The user is deleted.