--- title: "Enabling or Disabling User Accounts" slug: "enabling-or-disabling-user-accounts-4" tags: ["8.2", "Portal"] updated: 2024-12-30T13:54:02Z published: 2024-12-30T13:54:02Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/enabling-or-disabling-user-accounts-4" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Enabling or Disabling User Accounts You can disable or enable a user account. Disabling the account prevents the user from accessing the portal, without removing the user or associated folders and files from the portal. **To enable or disable a user account:** 1. Select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. The **Users** page is displayed. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-HLGDL3Q1.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A00Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A00Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=S%2B3G2vp9iKIZtc3VH0g17q%2FgaU5P4vSATF6swLD%2Fsvs%3D) 2. Click the user to disable or enable. The user window is displayed with the user name as the window title. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-BESOQYS1.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A00Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A00Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=S%2B3G2vp9iKIZtc3VH0g17q%2FgaU5P4vSATF6swLD%2Fsvs%3D) 3. In the **Status** field, select **Enabled** or **Disabled** as required. 4. Click **Save**.