--- title: "Leaving a Shared Folder or File" slug: "leaving-a-shared-folder-or-file-4-1" tags: ["Portal", "8.3"] updated: 2025-06-26T15:41:47Z published: 2025-06-26T15:41:47Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/leaving-a-shared-folder-or-file-4-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Leaving a Shared Folder or File Items shared with you by another user are displayed in the **Shared With Me** folder. You can leave items shared with you. You can only leave a shared folder or file at the top **Shared With Me** level and if your administrator has enabled this option. You cannot leave shared subfolders or files in shared subfolders. **To leave a shared folder or file:** - In **Shared With Me**, select the content to leave and click ![leaveSharedItem.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/leaveSharedItem%281%29.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A49Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A49Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=XzYzSAAfHR2UItD9DQmGcbx3wvbzSQy78zZD2dxnRIo%3D). ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-03PWITOP.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A49Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A49Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=XzYzSAAfHR2UItD9DQmGcbx3wvbzSQy78zZD2dxnRIo%3D) If you want to leave more than one file and folder, select all the folders and click ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-HSHCION0.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A49Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A49Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=XzYzSAAfHR2UItD9DQmGcbx3wvbzSQy78zZD2dxnRIo%3D). ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-E6Q8LPNQ.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A49Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A49Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=XzYzSAAfHR2UItD9DQmGcbx3wvbzSQy78zZD2dxnRIo%3D) After leaving a shared folder or file, you can no longer access it nor any of the folders and files the folder contains, unless the owner reshares the folder with you.