--- title: "Managing a Device" slug: "managing-a-device-1-1-1" tags: ["Portal"] updated: 2026-08-23T06:41:46Z published: 2026-08-23T06:41:46Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/managing-a-device-1-1-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Managing a Device You can manage the following for a device: - The device name. - A description of the device. You can use this to add comments about the device, for example backup details. - Advanced settings, including: - The MAC address - The backup folder, either to not have a backup folder or to one of the current backup folders. - The software version. - The configuration template, the default template or another template defined in the portal. - You can restart devices and delete devices from the portal, for example inactive devices that are using a license can be deleted to free up a license. - Disconnecting a device from the portal. **To manage a device:** 1. In the global administration view, select **Main > Devices** in the navigation pane. The **Devices** page opens, displaying all the devices registered to all the team portals. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-EWX0332C.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A18%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A18%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=a8Wz0XyPVVvr0h5Qib6cW4naydaDtmFS006g9qsuRPg%3D) 2. Click the device name. A message can be displayed that you will be redirected to the portal view for the selected device. In this case, click **OK**. The device details are displayed in a new browser window. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-4GD5Q292.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A18%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A18%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=a8Wz0XyPVVvr0h5Qib6cW4naydaDtmFS006g9qsuRPg%3D) The details are different for each type of device and whether the device is currently connected to the portal. 3. Click the ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-MZQL5KPZ.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A18%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A18%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=a8Wz0XyPVVvr0h5Qib6cW4naydaDtmFS006g9qsuRPg%3D) icon and select the option required for the device. **Note** The list of available options is dependent on the device. For example, mobile devices do not have the **Advanced Settings** option and only connected devices have a **Restart Device** option. When **Rename Device** is selected, the **Rename** window is displayed. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-UEC4TYIM.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A18%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A18%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=a8Wz0XyPVVvr0h5Qib6cW4naydaDtmFS006g9qsuRPg%3D) Enter the new device name and click **Rename**. The device is offline for a few seconds as the name change is applied. When **Restart Device** is selected, the **Restart Device** window is displayed prompting the restart. Click **Restart** to restart the device. When **Set Description** is selected, the **Set Description** window is displayed. Enter any information you want to describe the device and click **Save**. When **Advanced Settings** is selected, the **Device Advanced Settings** window is displayed. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-XSTCXYB8.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A18%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A18%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=a8Wz0XyPVVvr0h5Qib6cW4naydaDtmFS006g9qsuRPg%3D) Enter the configuration you want for the device and click **Save**. When **Delete Device** is selected, the **Delete <*device name*>** window is displayed. Click **Remove** to disconnect the device from the portal and remove it, and along with deleting any backups, from the number of devices licensed for the portal. To remove the device with backups, you need to enter the password and click **Remove device and all its backups** to remove the device from the portal. This does not delete the actual device, but the device is no longer registered with the portal.