Managing Quarantined Files
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Managing Quarantined Files

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article Summary

Files that have been identified as a threat to the system are placed in quarantine and removed from their source location. These files are also not synced to the CTERA Portal.
An administrator is alerted when a file is quarantined. The administrator can check the list of quarantined files and either delete files permanently or restore them. Quarantined files are only displayed when antivirus has been enabled. If the signature for the file has not changed, it will immediately be added back to quarantine, but a file that an updated DAT file recognizes as not being a virus, can be restored.

To manage quarantined files:

  • In the Configuration view, select Antivirus > Quarantine in the navigation pane.
    The Quarantine page is displayed.
    Each quarantined file is displayed with the following information:
    Threat – The name of the threat.
    Quarantine Time – The time the file was accessed and then moved to quarantine.
    Alias – The virus alias recognized by the DAT file.
    Original Path – The name and location of the file before it was quarantined.

To empty the quarantine of all files:

  1. Without selecting any of the quarantined files, click image.png.
  2. Click Yes to confirm the delete.
    All the quarantined files are permanently deleted. The quarantine folder is cleaned every 30 days.

To select one or more quarantined files to permanently delete:

  1. Select the files to delete and click image.png.
  2. Click Yes to confirm the delete.
    The quarantined files are permanently deleted.

To restore one or more quarantined files to their original location:

  1. Select the files to restore and click image.png.
  2. Click Yes to confirm the restore.
    The quarantined files are restored to their original location. If the signature for the file has not changed, it will immediately be added back to quarantine.

Was this article helpful?