Managing the CTERA Agent From the Command Line
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Managing the CTERA Agent From the Command Line

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article Summary

You manage the CTERA Agent either from the user interface, or directly from the command line, from the directory where the CTERA Agent was installed.

To display the CLI syntax, in the directory where the CTERA Agent was installed, use: cteractl --help.

The command line interface has the following syntax:
cteractl [--version] [--help] <command>
Where command can be:
backup-add -f PATH [-f PATH]... [--background]
backup-remove -f PATH [-f PATH]... [--background]
backup-start [--background]
backup-stop [--background]
backup-suspend [--background]
backup-unsuspend [--background]
dbg [<level>] [<level>] ...
gui-access --all | --localhost
settings re-auth [--signout=<n_seconds_or_never>] [--network-loss=n_seconds_or_never] [--timer=<n_seconds_or_never>]
signin [-u <string>] [-p <string>] [-c <ActivationCode>] [--allow-untrusted] [-r <ReplacementDeviceID>] [-replacelist] <ServerAddress>
signout
status
sync-add -f PATH [--rename=<string>] [--merge]
sync-remove -f PATH
sync-start [--name=<string>] [--merge] [--override] [--local-folder=<path>]
sync-stop [--name=<string>]
sync-suspend
sync-unsuspend

Examples

cteractl signin -u User1 -p 12345678Aa portal.ctera.com
cteractl sync-start --name “ReleaseNotes” --override
cteractl sync-suspend
cteractl sync-unsuspend
cteractl dbg debug backup

Description of command

KeywordMeaning
backup-add/backup-removeAdd or remove files and folders to be backed up.
     PATHThe full path of the file or folder to be added or removed.
     backgroundRun the command in background.
backup-start/backup-stopStart or stop a backup.
     backgroundRun the command in background.
backup-suspend/backup-unsuspendSuspend or unsuspend a running backup.
     backgroundRun the command in background.
dbgSet the log level or, when no additional arguments are specified, the current level. Level is hexadecimal. You can combine different values for Level. For example:
dbg 0x00000002 sets the current level to warning.
dbg 0x00000042 sets the level to warning for storage.
You can also use the name. For example:
dbg warning sets the current level to warning.
dbg warning storage sets the level to warning for storage.
     LevelDebugging based on the level:
     aapi = 0x00000020 – api calls sent for an action
     alert = 0x00020000 – log from alert messages
     apps = 0x04000000
     auth = 0x00200000 – SSO: communication with Kerberos
     av = 0x00080000
     backup = 0x00000800 – cloud backup and sync
     cbck = 0x00040000
     cloud_extender = 0x02000000
     collaboration = 0x00800000
     cttp = 0x00004000 – cttp connection: suspected bad communication to the portal
     cttp_data = 0x00008000
     db = 0x00001000
     debug = 0x00000004 – log from debug messages
     dns = 0x00000200 – DNS communication
     error = 0x00000001 – log from error messages
     error_abort = 0x01000000
     http = 0x00000100
     index = 0x00100000
     info = 0x00000003 – log from info messages
     license = 0x00400000 – the licensing from the portal
     none = 0x00000000 – no logging
     ntp = 0x00000400 – NTP connectivity
     rsync = 0x00010000 – file level backup
     samba = 0x00000010 – SSO: communication with Active Directory
     storage = 0x00000040 – storage processes (repair (fsck), scrubbing)
     upload = 0x00000080
     warning = 0x00000002 – log from warning messages
gui-accessSet the GUI access.
     allAll users have access to the GUI.
     localhostOnly localhost users have access to the GUI.
settings re-authSettings that determine when re-authentication is required.
     network-lossSet the number of seconds after a disconnection that can elapse before authentication is required, even if the user is still signed in to the portal, when the connection returns, or never to never require re-authentication.
     timerSet the number of seconds during a session with the portal after which re-authentication is required, even if the user is still signed in to the portal, or never to never require re-authentication during a session.
signinSign in to the server specified in Server Address.
     uThe username for signing in.
     pThe password for the username.
     c ActivationcodeAn activation code instead of the username and password.
     allow-untrustedIgnore untrusted certificates when logging in to the server.
     ReplacementDeviceIDUse this device ID to replace the existing device.
     replacelistA list of replacement device IDs to use.
     ServerAddressThe server address to sign in to – either a portal or gateway.
signoutSign out of the server.
statusGet the agent status. The following information is returned:
* What the agent is connected to, including the IP address.
* The username.
* The status of the last backup.
* The status of the license.
sync-add/sync-removeAdd or remove local folders to be synced to the portal cloud drive.
     PATHThe full path of folder to add to or remove from being synced.
     renameRename a folder in the portal cloud drive. The default is the last folder in the path.
     mergeMerge the folder with a folder in the portal cloud drive.
sync-start/sync-stopStart or stop syncing a portal cloud drive folder.
     nameThe name of the folder to start or stop syncing.
     mergeMerge the portal cloud drive folder with a local folder.
     overrideOverride the content of the local folder with the content from the portal cloud drive.
     local-folderChoose a different location.
sync-suspend/sync-unsuspendSuspend or unsuspend syncing to the cloud.

Was this article helpful?