--- title: "Managing User Groups" slug: "managing-user-groups-11-1-1" tags: ["7.11", "Edge Filer", "Gateway", "Filer"] updated: 2025-10-30T15:21:09Z published: 2025-10-30T15:21:09Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/managing-user-groups-11-1-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Managing User Groups The CTERA Edge Filer includes built-in user groups. You can create additional user groups to meet your organization's requirements. It is possible to add each user to more than one group. **Warning** The built-in user groups must not be deleted. CTERA Edge Filer administrators can create local groups with nested Active Directory groups. Nesting Active Directory groups within local groups is useful when addressing frequent changes in branch user hierarchies. The **Backup-Operators** group initially has no members and is for users who require access to backup files and folders, even if they do not have the correct ACL permissions. **To add or edit a user group:** 1. In the **Configuration** view, select **Users > Groups** in the navigation pane. The **Groups** page is displayed. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-OUZPR6GF.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=8Q0Oqr%2F8JTibYPmG8FymA%2BYfHNqmMOfkkdVgEBvKfFw%3D) 2. To add a group, click **New**. Or, To edit a group, click the group name. The **New Group** page is displayed. If you are editing an existing group, the *existing_group_name* page is displayed with the group details. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-86RZ9JPK.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=8Q0Oqr%2F8JTibYPmG8FymA%2BYfHNqmMOfkkdVgEBvKfFw%3D) **Note** You cannot edit the name of any of the built-in groups. 3. Specify the group name and, optionally, a group GID and comment to describe the group. The following reserved names cannot be used: `Administrator, Backup Operators, Domain Admins, Domain Computers, Domain Controllers, Domain Guests, Domain Users, Guest, Guests, Network, Self, Service, Users` 4. Click **Membership** and select the group members, either from **Local Users**, or from **Domain *domainName* Users**, or from **Domain *domainName* Groups**. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-LZ1J8XYA.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=8Q0Oqr%2F8JTibYPmG8FymA%2BYfHNqmMOfkkdVgEBvKfFw%3D) 1. Select the group whose member you want to include. 2. Click in the **Search** text box to list all the available users or start to enter a user name in the list. 3. Select the user from the list and click **Add**. 5. When you are done adding users, click **Save**. ## Deleting User Groups To delete a user group, select the group row, click **Delete**, and then click **Delete** to confirm. **Notes** The **Delete** option is displayed after selecting the row of the goup to delete. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-9D2MOLB2.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A40Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=8Q0Oqr%2F8JTibYPmG8FymA%2BYfHNqmMOfkkdVgEBvKfFw%3D) Built-in groups, such as *Administrators* and *Read Only Administrators*, cannot be deleted. Deleting a user group does not delete the group members. If the deleted user group had been granted access rights to network shares, the group members will no longer have access rights to those network shares.