Provisioning User Accounts
  • 29 Jun 2022
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Provisioning User Accounts

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article Summary

Users may be assigned to a default subscription plan or assigned automatically to another plan based on automatic template assignment settings. For details, see Provisioning. If desired, you can subscribe an individual user to a different subscription plan. You can also unsubscribe the user account, which deletes all files stored in the account and terminates the account.

Assigning Users to Plans

To assign a user to a plan:

  1. Select Users > Users in the navigation pane.
    The USERS page opens, displaying the users for the portal.
    image.png
  2. Click the user's name.
    The user window is displayed with the user name as the window title.
  3. Select the Provisioning option.
    image.png
  4. Click the Subscription Plan.
    The Select Your Subscription Plan window is displayed.
    image.png
  5. In the Subscription Plan drop-down list, select the subscription plan to assign the user.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Click SAVE.

Terminating User Accounts

Unsubscribing a user from a plan terminates the account and removes all the files stored in the account.

To terminate a user account:

  1. Select Users > Users in the navigation pane.
    The USERS page opens, displaying the users for the portal.
  2. Click the user's name.
    The user window is displayed with the user name as the window title.
  3. Select the Provisioning option.
  4. Click Unsubscribe.
    The Account Termination window is displayed.
    image.png
  5. If you are sure you want to proceed, enter your password.
  6. Click SAVE.

Applying Provisioning Changes

CTERA Portal applies changed plan settings to all users every day at midnight. You can also apply all changes immediately.

Note

If the portal is integrated with a directory service, applying provisioning changes will also cause the portal to synchronize all the users with the directory.

To apply provisioning changes:

  1. Select Users > Users in the navigation pane.
    The USERS page opens, displaying the users for the portal.
    image.png
  2. Click Apply Provisioning Changes.
    The Apply Provisioning Changes window is displayed and the changes are applied.
    Note

    While the changes are being applied you can either stop the process, by clicking STOP or close the window while the process continues to run in the background by clicking CONTINUE IN BACKGROUND.

    image.png
  3. Click CLOSE.

Was this article helpful?