Removing Files From the Caching Agent
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Removing Files From the Caching Agent

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article Summary

When a Caching Agent is configured, files that are not marked as available offline, but have been downloaded to the cache, get removed from the cache in the following circumstances:


    • When the cache is full and the scheduled cache clean up, based on the Start eviction everyvalue, is performed.
      1. Right-click the CTERA Agent tray icon in the taskbar, image-1649079800170, and select Settings.
        Or,
        Click the gear icon in the bottom right corner of the CTERA Agent window.
        The CTERA Agent Settings window is displayed.
      2. Click Main > Cloud Drive in the navigation pane.
        The Cloud Drive page is displayed.
      3. Click Settings and in the Cloud Drive Settings window that is displayed, click Advanced in the navigation pane.
        The Cloud Drive Settings page is displayed.
        The eviction process checks if the amount of storage exceeds the allocated cache size and if it is larger than the allocation, files that can be evicted and that have not been accessed for at least 4 day are evicted from the cache, file by file until the amount of the storage that is used is less than the allocated cache size. A file is only evicted if:
        • All modifications to the file have been synced to the portal.
        • The file is not open in an application.
        • The file is not marked as available offline.

These files are grouped according to the time since they were last accessed. The files are evicted within these groups, the files in the oldest group first, followed by the files in the next oldest group.

Note
Eviction is based on days and not file size. Also, there is no differentiation within a group of the length of time since a file was accessed.

The eviction policy can be configured. For details, contact CTERA support.
Files that are evicted, leave only the stubs in the cache.
When Evict Now is run by the user. The process is the same as when a scheduled eviction is performed, based on the Start eviction every value.

  • When Empty Cache is clicked. All files are evicted, irrelevant of how old the file is, as long as:
    • All modifications to the file have been synced to the portal.
    • The file is not open in an application
    • The file is not marked as available offline.
      In Windows File Explorer, the evicted files are represented by their stubs.

      Note: The folders remain synced.

An entry is written to the log when eviction starts and when eviction completes. The entry when eviction completes includes the amount of data that was evicted.



Was this article helpful?