--- title: "Setting or Unsetting the Default Zone" slug: "setting-or-unsetting-the-default-zone-4" tags: ["8.2", "Portal"] updated: 2025-03-05T11:58:03Z published: 2025-03-05T11:58:03Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/setting-or-unsetting-the-default-zone-4" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Setting or Unsetting the Default Zone The default zone is automatically assigned to all new team portals. The default portal cannot be deleted. **To set a zone as the default:** 1. Select **Compliance > Zones** in the navigation pane. The **ZONES** page is displayed. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-KWADVD9H.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A33%3A41Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A33%3A41Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=BvE9Vtz1z1jFrCRsWRS4NL0XKKM28HaLNZmIZSVgXHU%3D) 2. Select the desired zone's row. 3. Click **Set Default**. The selected zone becomes the default zone. `Default Zone` is displayed under the zone name. **To remove a zone from being the default:** **Note** To remove the default setting from a zone requires specifying another zone as the default zone. 1. Select **Compliance > Zones** in the navigation pane. The **ZONES** page opens, displaying all the zones. 2. Select the zone’s row that will become the default zone instead of the current default zone. 3. Click **Set Default.** The selected zone replaces the old default zone as the default.