--- title: "Provisioning User Accounts" slug: "provisioning-user-accounts-5-1" tags: ["Portal", "8.3"] updated: 2026-08-06T12:01:57Z published: 2026-08-06T12:01:57Z canonical: "kb.ctera.com/provisioning-user-accounts-5-1" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.ctera.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Provisioning User Accounts Users may be assigned to a default subscription plan or assigned automatically to another plan based on automatic template assignment settings. For details, see [Provisioning](/v1/docs/provisioning-11-1). If desired, you can subscribe an individual user to a different subscription plan. You can also unsubscribe the user account, which deletes all files stored in the account and terminates the account. ## Assigning a User to a Plan **To assign a user to a plan:** 1. Select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. The **Users** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-5Y7PWN1B.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 2. Click the user's name. The user window is displayed with the user name as the window title. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-DFTOAOL0.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 3. Select the **Plan** option. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-CSNL8TTD.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 4. In the **Subscription Plan** drop-down list, select the subscription plan to assign the user. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-GKD64OA5.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 5. Click **Save**. ## Unsubscribing (Terminating) a User Account Unsubscribing a user from a plan terminates the account and removes all the files stored in the account. **To terminate a user account:** 1. Select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. The **Users** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-IVNHQ1R6.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 2. Click the user's name. The user window is displayed with the user name as the window title. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-BR7W5L1L.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 3. Select the **Plan** option. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-524CTMT3.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 4. Click **Unsubscribe**. The **Unsubscribe** window is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-LOR3UKUM.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 5. If you are sure you want to proceed, enter your password and click **Delete**. ## Applying Provisioning Changes CTERA Portal applies changed plan settings to all users every day at midnight. You can also apply all changes immediately. **Note** If the portal is integrated with a directory service, applying provisioning changes will also cause the portal to synchronize all the users with the directory. **To apply provisioning changes:** 1. Select **Users > Users** in the navigation pane. The **Users** page is displayed. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-YKJGRKLX.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 2. Click **Apply Provisioning Changes**. The **Apply Provisioning Changes** window is displayed and the changes are applied. **Note** While the changes are being applied you can either stop the process, by clicking **Stop** or close the window while the process continues to run in the background by clicking **Background Run**. ![Image](https://cdn.document360.io/30792387-cdcb-4791-aa14-94929bbcd3fe/Images/Documentation/image-FWIVPXH6.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T04%3A28%3A39Z&se=2026-11-11T05%3A28%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=M2Udi3lnNrxwk4A%2FNRFHBfJXihp3ZiqNMsPOgpaSxHU%3D) 3. Click **Close**