If the file is a Microsoft Excel, PowerPoint or Word file, and online document editing has been set up by the CTERA Portal administrator, you can edit your documents stored in the CTERA Portal from within the CTERA Portal.
You can only edit files that have Read/write permissions. A file with Read Only permission can only be viewed. A file with Preview Only permission can only be viewed in the HCP Anywhere Enterprise Portal viewer.
You can edit the following file types within the CTERA Portal:
- Word files: .docx, .docm, .odt, .doc
- When editing any Word file the file is saved as a .docx file.
- Excel files: .xlsx, .xlsb, .xlsm, .ods, .xls
- When editing any Excel file the file is saved as a .xlsx file.
- PowerPoint files: .pptx, .ppsx, .odp, .ppt
- When editing any PowerPoint file the file is saved as a .pptx file.
You can only open one file at a time. If you want to edit multiple files, open each file using the following procedure.
To edit a file:
- In the CTERA Portal, navigate to the file you want to edit.
- Select the file and either click the
icon or right-click the file and choose the online editor for the file type.
The file is displayed in a new tab.NoteThe popup menu displays the options to open the file with the Microsoft Word, Excel or PowerPoint offline editor.
- Edit the file using the editor.
After closing the tab with the editor, the original version of the file is stored as a previous version and the file is displayed in the CTERA Portal as modified.
Co-Authoring Shared Office Files
Co-authoring includes real-time content updates between all users editing the document, as well as information about other users editing the file and real-time cursor tracking for each user.
When another user starts to edit a shared document already being edited, all users are informed of this. Markers are used to show where the other users are editing in the document. All edits are merged together and displayed to every user editing the file.
CTERA recommends a maximum of twenty authors editing a file simultaneously.
If a user opens a file in read only mode and then another user opens the file for editing, changes made to the file are not shown in the file that was opened in read only mode.